Congratulations to this year’s award winners from the Department of Political Science!

May 19, 2014

We had several university, college, and departmental award winners this year.

Dr. Jeff Fine, who serves as the Department’s honors adviser and in various roles working with the Calhoun Honors College, was awarded the Frank A. Burtner Award for Excellence in Advising Students and the 2014 Clemson Class of 1940 Douglas W. Bradbury Award for outstanding contributions to the Calhoun Honors College.  The General Faculty Meeting on May 8th was great!  Dr. Fine won two of the four faculty awards given annually at the General Faculty Meeting.

In addition to winning these prestigious awards, Dr. Fine’s students were recognized as being Clemson’s most outstanding students at this year’s graduation.  Kate Gasparro, a Political Science minor and one of Dr. Fine’s students, won the Norris Medal for most outstanding graduating senior this year.  Another student of Fine’s, Jenny Tumas, who won the Department’s Byrnes Award for best graduating senior in Political Science and the CBBS award for Outstanding Undergraduate Research, was awarded the Algernon Sidney Sullivan Student Award at the May Commencement, which is given to two outstanding graduating seniors for service to campus and community.

Our Departmental award winners, in addition to Tumas, also include two winners of the Matt Locke Faculty Award for Excellence, Katherine J. Cheney and Allison M. Kowalski; and, Kyle Smith who won the Jack Tuttle Pi Sigma Alpha Service Award.

Congratulations to all of the award winners!

With Kate and BillWith Kate and BillWith Kate and Jenny

Related Posts


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *