Creativity Professorships, awards announced at CAAH spring meeting

May 18, 2020

For the first time, the College of Architecture, Arts and Humanities held its end-of-year meeting in a virtual format on May 13.

CAAH faculty and staff might have missed the chance to catch up with colleagues after the meeting adjourned over the customary sweet tea and cookies, but otherwise the Zoom meeting covered much familiar territory.

College committee reports were delivered by the following faculty members: Andrew Levin (Curriculum Committee), Mickey Lauria (Research Committee), Daval Gajjar (Faculty Awards Committee) and Anthony Bernarducci (Honors and Awards Committee). Peter Laurence contributed the Faculty Senate report.

If there had been a theme to the meeting, it would have been “Transitions.” In his introductory remarks, Interim Dean Timothy R. Boosinger mentioned the challenges  and changes COVID-19 brought to campus in March. He also looked ahead to strategies for a “return to work” and fall classes.

Kate Schwennsen was recognized for her exceptional leadership of the School of Architecture for a decade, while Jim Stevens was welcomed as the School’s next director beginning June 1.

Faculty members Thomas Kuehn (Department of History and Geography), Mark Hosler (Department of Performing Arts) and Robert Silance (School of Architecture) were acknowledged upon their retirement.

Nicholas Vazsonyi, who begins his tenure as dean on July 1, addressed the faculty and staff both warmly and briefly.

Announcements about faculty and staff award winners were split between Interim Dean Boosinger, Associate Dean Jim Spencer and Interim Associate Dean James Burns:

Student-selected honors

The afternoon’s recognitions began with two faculty awards normally announced at the annual Honors and Awards ceremony. Students from the CAAH Ambassadors selected these two winners from a field nominated by fellow students:

  • Advisor of the Year: Deborah Anthony (Nieri Family Department of Construction Science and Management)
  • Faculty Member of the Year: Matthew Leckenbusch (Department of Performing Arts)

Lightsey Fellows

  • Maria Bose (Department of English)
  • Mashal Saif (Department of Philosophy and Religion)

John B. & Thelma A. Gentry Award for Teaching Excellence in the Humanities

  • Ben White (Department of Philosophy and Religion)

Creativity Professorships

  • Design and Building: Hala Nassar (School of Architecture)
  • Humanities: Rhondda Robinson Thomas (Department of English) and
    Christa Smith (Department of History and Geography)

Dean’s Award for Excellence in Teaching

  • Elizabeth Jemison (Department of Philosophy and Religion)

Dean’s Award for Excellence in Research

  • Mashal Saif (Department of Philosophy and Religion)

Dean’s Award for Excellence in Service

  • Charles Starkey (Department of Philosophy and Religion)

Dean’s Team Player Award

  • Keri Crist-Wagner (Department of English)

Dean’s Award for Excellence in Outstanding Customer Service

  • Julia Harvey (all from CAAH Student Services)
  • Ashley Crisp
  • Regina Foster and
  • Carolyn Crist

Clemson University Awards

In addition to the College’s award winners, one faculty member and one student from the College of Architecture, Arts and Humanities were recognized with Algernon Sydney Sullivan awards.

  • Rhonda Robinson Thomas (Calhoun Lemon Professor of Literature, Department of English)
  • Carly Malcolm (Class of 2020, language and international health major (Spanish) with a minor in gender, sexuality and women’s studies

Congratulations to all of the College’s award winners!