Call for nominations: Martin Luther King Jr. Awards for Excellence in Service

November 9, 2017

Dr. Martin Luther King Jr’s definition of the “Beloved Community” reflects “a community inclusive of all people, regardless of race, gender, class, ethnicity … a community that recognizes people as individuals first, each with a unique set of life experiences that shapes their particular perspectives … a community where varied perspectives are brought together in a collective effort to achieve goals for the common good.”

With that definition in mind, Clemson seeks nominations for its annual Martin Luther King Jr. Awards for Excellence in Service.

Chief Diversity Office Lee Gill thinks it’s important to recognize those who have emulated King’s ideals and shared them with the community. “Excellence in service to the broader community is a dedication to uplifting the human spirit of another,” he said. “These awards are a pinnacle, given to those who are role models and challenge us all to emulate their standard.”

Awards will be given in three categories:

  • Clemson University student (Undergraduate or graduate)
  • Clemson University employee (Faculty or staff)
  • Clemson Area community member (Anderson, Oconee or Pickens counties)

Please help by nominating deserving individuals who exhibit excellence in service in one or more of the following areas involved in advancing Dr. King’s vision of the “Beloved Community.”

  • Service to Clemson University or the surrounding community
  • Advocacy for social or environmental justice
  • Service above and beyond direct employment

An online nomination form is available. All nominations should be submitted using the online form no later than Dec. 15, 2017.

The recipient of the student award will receive a $500 cash stipend. Other winners will be able to direct a grant of $500 to the campus or community organization of the recipient’s choice. Each will also receive a personal plaque, and be recognized on a permanent plaque showing past winners.

Last year’s winners include Office of Human Resources staff member Vivian Morris, student Erin Hughes and community member Mable Owens Clark. Staff who have won the award in past years include Amber Lange in the Office of Access and Equity and Rosa Grayden in the sociology and anthropology department.

Winners will be announced during the Jan. 16, 2018 Martin Luther King Jr. Commemorative Service.

Related Posts