Inside Clemson

Curtis to direct Office of Major Fellowships

By Jackie Todd, University Relations

Robyn Curtis will join Clemson as director of the university’s new Office of Major Fellowships. Curtis comes to Clemson from the University of Southern Mississippi, where she directed its Office of Nationally Competitive Awards since 2008. During that time, her students won numerous major fellowships and scholarships, including three Harry S. Truman scholarships.

Calhoun Honors College Executive Director Bill Lasser said the new director will work with undergraduate and graduate students across the university.

“We are very excited to work with someone of Robyn’s caliber,” he said. “She has a strong record of success and is committed to expanding national and international opportunities for students from non-traditional and underrepresented backgrounds.”

Lasser said the Office of Major Fellowships will work with faculty from across campus to encourage and prepare honors and non-honors students to apply for a wide range of prestigious national and international fellowships and scholarships, including the Rhodes, Marshall, Truman, Gilman, and Goldwater Scholarships and National Science Fellowships.

Curtis begins her new job July 2. Her office will be located in Core Campus building D, next to the Honors College offices.