McCubbin installed as Faculty Senate president

April 14, 2015

By Jackie Todd, Office of Media Relations

James McCubbin

James McCubbin

James McCubbin,  a psychology professor in the College of Business and Behavioral Science, assumed the 2015-16 presidency of the university’s Faculty Senate at its monthly meeting yesterday. The 18-year Clemson veteran chaired the Faculty Senate Research Committee before becoming Faculty Senate vice president.

“To serve as Faculty Senate president is a great honor for me,” he said. “But the real honor is to work with dedicated leaders like each of you.”

McCubbin praised the senate for its quest to preserve academic integrity, keep education affordable and to encourage a welcoming campus environment.

“I know that you don’t get much recognition for the hours you dedicate to the Faculty Senate,” he said. “However, I know that you do this for the greater good of our students, our colleagues and our community.”

In a recent presentation to Clemson’s Board of Trustees, McCubbin said that his top goal during his term is to “stimulate passionate motivation to drive ever-increasing faculty success.” To do that, the new president sees open and direct communication as a crucial part of the relationship among the university’s faculty, administration and its Trustees.

“I believe it is the basis of sound university management,” he explained.

McCubbin, who serves on Clemson’s 2020Forward undergraduate education committee, said that the Faculty Senate will play an active role in shaping the university’s future. As he leads the senate, the new president pledged to continue the work done on improving and streamlining the faculty manual, supporting diversity and enhancing a working environment that supports families.

McCubbin teaches psychology at both the undergraduate and graduate levels. His emphasis in both his teaching and research is health psychology. He actively researches and has been published for his work regarding the role of stress in cardiovascular disease.

He earned a bachelor’s degree in psychology and a Ph.D. in psychology and neurobiology from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and a master’s degree in psychology from Wake Forest University.

Other recognitions at yesterday’s meeting included:

  • Brett Dalton, named 2015 Alan Schaffer Faculty Senate Service Award recipient
  • Retiring faculty senators
  • Faculty Senate staff
  • New 2015-16 faculty senators and representatives