Strategic Plan update: Plan gets a name, committees selected; feedback sought

December 16, 2014

By Jackie Todd, Office of Media Relations

Clemson’s strategic plan is more than just a plan. The plan, called 2020Forward, is a blueprint of Clemson’s future, according to University Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost Bob Jones.

Plan goals

Jones outlined Phase I of the 2020Forward plan at a town hall held in November on Clemson’s main campus. Phase I involves the creation of three aspirational goals, which will supplement the existing 2020 Road Map goals. The goals include achieving the following:

  • Pre-eminence in undergraduate learning,
  • National and international reputation in graduate studies, and
  • National reputation in research.

Committees assigned

To drive Phase I, 2020Forward committees comprised of a diverse mix of faculty, staff and students have been created to determine the efficacy of the goals, to identify broad strategies to help Clemson develop research and teaching programs that are well known for both quality and distinctiveness, to develop success metrics for each of the goals, and to increase opportunities for international connections and diversity. Members were nominated by groups, including the faculty, staff, student and graduate student senates; deans and presidential fellows.

Undergraduate studies committee

  • Diane Perpich, associate professor, Philosophy and Religion
  • Wrenne Bartlett, undergraduate student representative, Political Science and Economics major
  • Matthew Boyer, assistant professor, Teacher Education
  • Wil Brasington, senior director, Alumni Relations
  • Robert Brookover, senior lecturer, Parks, Recreation and Tourism Management
  • John DesJardins, associate professor, Bioengineering
  • Jeff Fine, associate professor, Political Science
  • Diana Finkle, instructional designer, University Libraries
  • Julia Lusk, student services manager, Undergraduate Studies
  • Joe Mazer, assistant professor, Communication Studies
  • Jim McCubbin, professor and vice president of the Faculty Senate, Psychology
  • Jennifer Ogle, associate professor, Civil Engineering
  • Jeff Rhodehamel, department chair and professor, Food, Nutrition, and Packaging Sciences
  • Barbara Speziale, associate dean and professor, Undergraduate Studies and Biological Sciences
  • Maddy Thompson, undergraduate student body president, Political Science Major

Graduate studies committee

  • Marieke Van Puymbroeck, associate professor and coordinator for Recreational Therapy, Parks, Recreation and Tourism Management
  • Michelle Cook, associate professor, Teacher Education
  • Kathleen Costello, director of Graduate Admissions and Recruitment, Graduate School
  • Delphine Dean, associate professor, Bioengineering
  • Saara DeWalt, associate professor, Biological Sciences
  • Claudia Giles, undergraduate student representative, Graphic Communications Major
  • Ryan Heil, graduate student body president, Ph.D. student in the School of Education
  • Leidy Klotz, associate professor, Civil Engineering
  • Lee Morrissey, professor and chair, English
  • Lindsey Sanders, graduate student representative, Ph.D. student in Bioengineering
  • Robert Sinclair, professor, Psychology
  • James Spencer, professor and chair, Planning, Development, and Preservation
  • Ann Wetsel, associate professor and director, School of Nursing

Research committee

  • Melur Ramasubramanian, distinguished professor and department chair, Mechanical Engineering
  • Hamilton Allen, graduate student representative, Ph.D. student in Entomology
  • CC Bates, assistant professor and director, Teacher Education and CU Reading Recovery Training Center
  • Sean Brittain, associate professor, Physics and Astronomy
  • Vernon Burton, professor and sirector, History, Sociology, Computer Science, and CyberInstitute
  • Cheryl Dye, professor and director, Public Health Sciences and CU Institute for Engaged Aging
  • Lawrence Fredendall, professor and director, Management and Institute for the Advancement of Health Care
  • Leslie D. Gonzales, assistant professor, Higher Educational Leadership and Education
  • Sheila Lischwe, director, Office of Sponsored Programs
  • Brian Powell, associate professor, Environmental Engineering and Earth Sciences
  • Martie Thompson, research professor, Institute on Family and Neighborhood Life
  • Harrison Trammell, president, Clemson University Foundation
  • Christina Wells, associate professor, Biological Sciences
  • Sarah White, associate professor, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences
  • Sally Widener, associate professor, Accounting

At the completion of Phase 1 of 2020Forward, the University will focus Phase 2 on the development of detailed strategies and implementation plans. This Phase 2 work is expected to take place during the spring.

Feedback sought

To successfully implement 2020Forward, University leaders seek input from faculty, staff and students. Toward that end, the 2020Forward team has created a website. Along with news, information and updates, the site features an area where visitors can post public comments. The Clemson community can also communicate directly to the 2020Forward team by email at

Look for more updates on the 2020Forward website and in Inside Clemson.