2015 Thomas Green Clemson Award for Excellence

December 17, 2015

Congratulations to Dr. Sherrill Biggers!

Dr. Biggers has won the 2015 Thomas Green Clemson Award for Excellence. He joined the Department in 1989 after 11 years with Lockheed-Martin where he was manager of NASA composite programs in Burbank. Prior to that, he was on the faculty at the University of Kentucky for 8 years. He has received teaching awards at both universities. He is a member of ASEE, an Associate Fellow of AIAA, and a Fellow of ASME. He is also a registered Professional Engineer.

This award was established by the Office of the Provost in 1999 to honor outstanding faculty and staff who have made significant contributions to academic life at Clemson. Nominations are confidential, and nominees should not be apprised of their nomination. Priority will be given to nominees who have not previously received Clemson University-wide awards. The award includes $5,000 to be evenly divided between the recipient and the Clemson University Libraries. Recipients of the award also receive a plaque, and their names are added to the perpetual Thomas Green Clemson Award for Excellence plaque, which is on permanent display in the lobby of the R.M. Cooper Library. The monies donated to the Libraries will be used to purchase new materials to be added to the Libraries’ collection, and these purchases will include a personalized donor plate honoring the award recipient.

Clemson’s news release: