Clements appoints faculty, staff and students to serve on university Diversity Advisory Council

August 25, 2015

Clemson University President James P. Clements today announced the appointment of a Diversity Advisory Council to provide strategic guidance to the president, chief diversity officer and other administrators and help set priorities on diversity initiatives.

Members, and their respective constituent groups, include:

  • Roy Jones, Ph.D., President’s Commission on the Status of Black Faculty and Staff;
  • Tina White, Staff Senate and Commission on the Status of Women;
  • Blair Durkee, LGBTQ Task Force;
  • Reginald Hawthorne, Campus Climate Task Force;
  • Alondra DeSantiago, Latino Task Force;
  • Vincent Hsu, Council on Diversity Affairs;
  • A.D. Carson, Black Graduate Student Association;
  • Amith Maroli, International Student Association;
  • Racquel Collier, Black Student Union;
  • Josh Bell, Alumni Association;
  • Sam Wigley, Student Veterans Association;
  • Joe Holloway, Campus Ministers;
  • Stephanie Ellison, Department of Athletics;
  • Jim McCubbin, Ph.D., Faculty Senate;
  • Jeremy King, Ph.D., Presidential Faculty Fellow;
  • Sharon Nagy, Ph.D., vice provost for Global Engagement;
  • Margaret Camp, director of Student Disability Services.

The council will play a key advisory role in developing a comprehensive diversity plan for the university. Interim Chief Diversity Officer Max Allen will chair the council and he will continue to serve as an ex-officio member on an ongoing basis. Other ex-officio members are Almeda Jacks, vice president for Student Affairs, and Leslie Doss of the Office of Diversity.

Earlier this year, Clements announced the creation of the Diversity Advisory Council, which would be comprised of a broad-based of constituents to collaborate, prioritize and make recommendations on issues, ideas and concerns regarding diversity and inclusive excellence at Clemson.

“I want to thank these individuals for agreeing to serve Clemson University in this capacity,” Clements said. “Their work will make a positive difference for our students, faculty, staff and alumni — now and in the future.”