Emeritus College

Professor Emerita Receives Lifetime Achievement Award

National College Learning Center Association
Lifetime Achievement Award


Beginning with the Annual Conference in 2003, the NCLCA Executive Board has honored learning center professionals who have contributed an extraordinary amount of service to the learning center profession, including research, publications, service, and leadership.

2019 Recipient: Elaine Richardson

Headshot of Dr. Richardson
Dr. Elaine Richardson, Professor Emerita and Director

Elaine Richardson earned her Bachelor of Science in Biology at Memphis State University.  She then went on to earn a Master of Science in Dairy Science and later a PhD in Animal Physiology at Clemson University. Elaine began her career in higher education as a Research Technologist at Clemson University in 1972. She soon transitioned to an instructional role, becoming a professor of Animal and Veterinary Science. In 1998, Elaine entered the field of learning support, when she accepted the Coordinator position for Clemson University’s CU 101 (University Success Skills). Then, in 2002 she became the Director of Clemson’s Academic Success Center, where she served until 2014. Elaine’s love for students and for the learning support community led her to NCLCA where she continues to serve. Her contributions to NCLCA include serving as Vice-President, President, and Immediate Past President from 2009-2012; Chair of the committee to develop the Learning Center of Excellence Program from 2010-2014; Co-chair of the NCLCA Webinar program from 2014-2016; Chair of the Learning Center of Excellence Program from 2015-2018; Certification Chair on the NCLCA Board from 2015-2018; and Learning Center of Excellence Review Committee from 2015 to the present. Under Elaine’s direction, two of her tutors won the ATP Tutor of the Year Award and one student won the 2006 International Outstanding SI Leader award. Additionally, her learning center has won the International Outstanding Supplemental Instruction Program Award, the NCLCA/LSCHE Website Excellence Award, and the Frank L. Christ Outstanding Learning Center Award. Elaine co-organized and drafted the bylaws for the South Carolina College Learning Center Association. She has devoted her life to serving her students, colleagues, and profession.

Previous recipients:
Frank Christ: 2003                                                                                              

Martha Maxwell: 2004                                                                                         

Carol Cashen: 2005                                                                                   

Charlotte Short: 2008

Johanna Dvorak: 2011

Alan Craig: 2014

Jacqueline Harris: 2017

David Reedy: 2018