Student Awards

April 22, 2020

Each year we honor students who demonstrate academic achievement, strong character, leadership skills, community involvement and many more outstanding qualities.  The John E. Walker Department of Economics is pleased to announce that the following students have received awards this year as listed below:

Harvey J. Wheeler Award for Outstanding Senior in Economics

The Harvey J. Wheeler award is presented by family, friends, and colleagues as a memorial to Dr. Harvey J. Wheeler, who served as the first Chair of the Economics Department. The recipients of this award are graduating seniors who have exhibited the best overall performance.

  • Banner Brock
  • Alexi Hecht
  • Monica Moody
  • Reaves Wannamaker

Hugh H. Macaulay Award for Outstanding Graduate Student

Professor Hugh H. Macaulay, a life-long leader in economic education at Clemson University, endowed a fund for the purpose of recognizing outstanding performance in the graduate program. The Hugh H. Macaulay Award is given to the student who has demonstrated the most promise in graduate coursework.

  • Ilya Polovnikov

Marian L. Harris Award for Excellence in Economics

The Marian L. Harris Award for Excellence in Economics was created by the Economics Department in memory of Marian L. Harris, who together with her son John, was a long-time supporter of the department’s undergraduate program. Recipients of this award are selected on the basis of superior classroom performance, a high-quality senior thesis, or outstanding service.

  • Casey Acosta
  • Sarah Danahy
  • Grace Griffith
  • Jack Oconnell
  • Jack West