Genetics and Biochemistry faculty and students receive awards – Spring 2024

May 9, 2024

Bharath Kunduru accepts Graduate Student Government Award

Genetics graduate student Bharath Kunduru was awarded the Graduate Student Government’s Outstanding Graduate Research Assistant Award at their awards ceremony on April 4th. 

Gracie Dellinger, an honors college student who is double-majoring in genetics and microbiology, has been awarded a National Science Foundation Graduate Student Research Fellowship. 

Graduate student Debarati Majumdar was awarded a competitive RNA Society Travel Fellowship to attend the 2024 RNA Society Meeting in Edinburgh and present a poster.

Graduate students Jessica Aycock (Dolan Lab) and Colm Roster (Morris lab) were recognized for their posters at the South Carolina Branch of the American Society of Microbiology Spring meeting. Aycock earned first place with her poster titled, “Pseudomonas aeruginosa detects fungal toxins using a novel regulatory cascade.” Roster earned a third place with his work titled, “Enolase inhibitors are potent therapeutic leads against Trypanosoma brucei.”

Genetics student Katie Barfield was named a 2024-25 Dixon Global Policy Scholar, a selective and intensive program for high-achieving honors college students with a demonstrated interest in major national or global issues.

Professor Hong Luo received the 2024 Society for In Vitro Biology Fellow Award, which recognizes society members who have provided outstanding service in helping the society develop and carry out its program.

Senior genetics major and student-athlete, Hogan Morton received the Danny Lee Ford Academic Achievement Award.

Ph.D. student Sky (Xinya) Lu, has been selected as the 2024 recipient of the Hope E. Hopps Award and the Society for In Vitro Biology Student Travel Award to present her research at the 2024 World Congress on In Vitro Biology. 

Graduate students Bharath Kunduru (Sekhon lab), Joshua Turner (Mason lab), Rodgrigo Catalan-Hurtado (Smith lab) and Austin Herbert (Lackey lab) were each awarded an Interdisciplinary Graduate Fellowship in recognition of their accomplishments and interdisciplinary nature of their research.

Two biochemistry students, Caroline Argenti and Adam Gatch received 2024 Goldwater Scholarships, which is one of the most prestigious and highly competitive national award for students with the potential to advance research in mathematics, natural sciences and engineering. 

Alum and last year’s winner of the Marcotte Award Danielle LaVigne received a National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship for her studies at Washington University Medical Center in St. Louis. 

Arohi Singhal, Ph.D. student in Kerry Smith’s lab, won the iGRADS competition. In addition, she also received the People’s Choice Award.

Jim Morris received the 2024 University Research, Scholarship and Artistic Achievement Awards (URSAAA). The URSAAA were established in 2018 to celebrate the exceptional accomplishments of Clemson University faculty members.

Two EPIC students recently attended the IDeA South Eastern Region Conference in Columbia, South Carolina and brought home awards for their posters. Sabrina Pizzaro’s poster titled, “Use of Peroxisomal Targeting Sequences in Drug Delivery,” won first place in the Chemistry and Biochemistry category. Alanna Scoggins’ poster titled, “Role of Mitochondrial Carriers in Cryptococcus neoformans,” received an honorable mention in the Cellular and Molecular Biology category.


Leave a Reply