May Graduates, 2022-23 Award Winners, Sigma Pi Sigma Inductees Honored

May 4, 2023

Department faculty, staff, students, and family members gathered at the Hendrix Student Center Friday, April 28 to honor our May graduates, departmental award winners, and Sigma Pi Sigma inductees. Graduating with Bachelor of Science degrees in May are William Bain, Rohan Chitrao, Natalie Combs, Logan Cruse, Kathryn Evancho, Regan Frye, Stone Gardner, Alexander Pendris, Michael Rutland, Brian Sanders, Austin Smith, Gavin Stafford, David Terry, and Timothy Thornton. Two graduate students, Austin Back and Peyton Stewart will graduate with a Master of Science degree, and graduate students Ross Silver and Haonan Wu will receive their Ph.D. degrees at the May hooding ceremony. Master of Ceremonies, Professor Joan Marler, had the privilege of introducing our graduates and presenting the departmental awards. Along with Professor Chad Sosolik, Dr. James Borgardt was on hand to provide some history about the Sigma Pi Sigma society and induct an impressive cohort of Clemson Physics and Astronomy undergraduates as charter members. Please join us in congratulating the following award winners:

Department of Physics and Astronomy Award Recipients
Matthew Everett and Grant Mondeel, L.D. Huff Outstanding Sophomore
Casey King, L.D. Huff Outstanding Junior
David Brian Sanders, Sigma Pi Sigma Outstanding Senior
Regan Frye, Samantha Erin Cawthorne ‘10 Award
Benjamin Amend and Ryan Perrin, Outstanding Graduate Teaching Assistant
Ross Silver and Haonan Wu, Outstanding Graduate Researcher
Benjamin Amend and Ryan Perrin, Impact Author Award
Benjamin Amend, Austin Back, Yamei Liu, Aniruddha Pan, Nathan Reed, and Peyton Stewart, Contributing Author Award

College, University, and National Award Recipients
Haonan Wu, Outstanding Graduate in Discovery
Scott Joffre, Outstanding Graduate in Engagement
Grant Mondeel, Goldwater Scholar

Congratulations to our May 2023 graduates, award recipients, and Sigma Pi Sigma inductees!


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *